News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
2023 Annual Dinner & Presentation night

2023 Annual Dinner & Presentation night

Richard Wain17 Nov 2023 - 13:37
Share via

All the winners on a great night

Selby Cricket Club held their Annual Dinner and Presentation night last Saturday at Selby Bowling Club where members and guests enjoyed a superb meal and MC Neil Darley looked back on a successful season on and off the pitch and all the captains, umpires, scorers and hard working people behind the scenes and the club sponsors were thanked. Before events got underway the club remembered two club stalwarts Stephen Ward and Hazel Rickaby who sadly passed away in recent weeks.

The midweek team had another good season in the Snaith Evening League with Matty Clark picking up the batting award with 314 runs at an average of 52.33. Lee Wild won the bowling trophy with 13 wickets at 12.23. The player of the year was young player Joe Bugg who played in every game and scored an unbeaten fifty at Goole.

The third team had a great campaign losing only one game all season in Division Three which earned them the league title. The third team also won the Scothern Construction Cup when they beat Ovington III in the final at Sandhill Lane. Skipper Steve Sherwood scored 225 runs at 32.14, Gareth Pearce scored 318 runs at 45.43 but the third team batting award went to Harry Huddlestone who scored 298 runs at an average of 49.67. In the bowling department young bowlers Alfie Laverack, George Wells and Rhys Roddick all took wickets but Neil Darley picked up the bowling award with 26 wickets at 9.8. Alfie Laverack was awarded the third team player of the year trophy after an impressive season with bat and ball.

The second team finished in fifth place in a very competitive Division Four Ebor with plenty of good performances. Oliver Steward was a consistent performer in the middle order scoring 321 runs at 24.69 but the winner of the batting award was skipper Graham Phillips who scored 473 runs at an average of 27.82. New signing Richard Waterton proved a great addition with 14 wickets at 23.07. Luke Berzins picked up 23 wickets at just 13.0 but the bowling award went to youngster Caspar Gray who took an impressive 37 wickets at 8.95 which also earned him the second team player of the season.

The first team picked up 14 wins in Division Two which earned them 168 points and a second place finish to secure promotion following a points deduction for Scarcroft which saw them demoted to third place. With the bat there were a number of batsmen who contributed. Lee Wild scored 269 runs at 26.90, Matthew Hoyle scored 323 runs at an average of 35.89 but the winner of of the first team batting award with 747 runs at an incredible average of 106.71. In the bowling department there were more impressive performances with Gareth Roberts taking 27 wickets at an average of 18.22 and his new ball partner Jamie Middleton had another consistent season with 28 wickets at 14.43. James Dugher often proved a partnership breaker with 26 wickets at 11.92 but the winner of the bowling award with 36 wickets at 10.61 was Lee Wild who also picked up the Rickaby Trophy for his consistent performances with bat and ball. The first team players player of the year went to Alex Bowden who scored 3 centuries and 4 fifties in his remarkable season. First team wicket keeper Darrell Guy had another good season with 24 dismissals including 12 stumpings which saw him pick up the Yorkshire Premier League North Division Two wicket keeping award.

The most improved junior in senior cricket award went to Alfie Laverack who showed improvement with bat and ball and played a major role in the third team securing the double. The best junior in senior cricket was awarded to Joe Bugg who had a fantastic season with the bat in the second team and was rewarded with a few first team appearances near the end of the season. The most improved senior player award went to Oliver Steward who had his most consistent season for the club, scoring over 300 runs in becoming a mainstay of the second team. The President’s award for club person of the year, which was selected by Stephen Ward before he sadly passed away, went to Dan McLoughlin who dedicates many hours to the running of the junior section which continues to go from strength to strength and he is also instrumental in the development of the club as a whole.

The final award of Outstanding Service to the Club was awarded posthumously to Stephen Ward for all his efforts over the years on and off the field.

Further reading